turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sabugs
Returning Member

Dependent Confusion

Hello,

For 2018 and 2019, I believed my parents were claiming me as a dependent, as they were paying for my health care and occasionally helping me with rent payments and other miscellaneous costs. I was a college student in 2018 and 2019.

However, after recently talking with my father, I found they have not claimed me as a dependent since 2016. So my tax forms are marked saying "someone can claim me as a dependent", but no one ever claimed me.

My main concern is this-- because I said I could be claimed as a dependent, will I be ineligible for the COVID-19 stimulus check? And if so, how would I fix it?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies
AlanT222
Expert Alumni

Dependent Confusion

Most likely you will not be eligible.  Please go to https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus-tax-relief-and-economic-impact-payments to determine your eligibility. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Dependent Confusion

There are 2 questions - *can* you be claimed and were you actually claimed.   Either way you are treated as a dependent and cannot claim yourself.  The only difference is certain educational credits that would be claimed by the pared can be claimed by you if not actually claimed by the parent.

**Disclaimer: This post is for discussion purposes only and is NOT tax advice. The author takes no responsibility for the accuracy of any information in this post.**
sabugs
Returning Member

Dependent Confusion