turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

hayer0192

I am a resident of Minnesota, so I will be taking the standard deduction for Federal, but itemizing for my State return. Can Turbo Tax process that?

Is this why I can't do itemized deduction on MN? It transfers my federal ( I have itemized) but set the MN as standard (since I can't find the option to itemize my deduction).
oncodoc85

I am a resident of Minnesota, so I will be taking the standard deduction for Federal, but itemizing for my State return. Can Turbo Tax process that?

Check Form M1SA, that is for MN State itemized deduction. MN you can have standard or itemized deduction irrespective whether you have taken standard or itemized deduction at Federal.
mingles75

The most recent turbotax update resolved my issue.  
hayer0192

But turbo tax doesn't provide the itemized state mn deduction. I reset to put the inputs again and still the same outcome. No option for itemized deduction.
hayer0192

@mingles75  Where do you see the option for itemized deduction?

Check Form M1SA .
mingles75

@hayer0192 in my case, the system just used whatever was best, I didn't see a specific state option for itemized deductions.  I just checked the paperwork on the return and the M1SA for for itemized deductions is there.
hayer0192

@mingles75 I can't force the system or the system gives me the itemized deduction or form M1SA. This is frustating cause I have re-edited the federal and then re-edited the state and it keeps giving me the standard flow/question and inputs.