turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Hi, I am an airline pilot payed with W-2. Many times I have to use taxis and Uber/ Lyft to move from hotels to airport. Can I declare these expenses?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Hi, I am an airline pilot payed with W-2. Many times I have to use taxis and Uber/ Lyft to move from hotels to airport. Can I declare these expenses?

For a 2017 tax return you could use that expense as a job-related expense--subject to the 2% of AGI floor--for 2018 and beyond the job-related expense deduction has been eliminated.
**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

For 2017:
JOB RELATED EXPENSES
Only the amount of job-related expenses that are OVER 2% of your adjusted gross income get added to your list of itemized deductions, which still must exceed your standard deduction in order to make a difference on your return.  This is kind of a hard deduction to get.  If you need to enter these, go to Federal>Deductions and Credits>Employment Expenses>Job-Related Expenses.
**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

Any reimbursement for those expenses?
Carl
Level 15