Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Arizona form 140 - Line 6 (Adjustment to Charitable Contributions)

TT did not enter an amount on this line even though I am a full year resident of AZ and have put several contributions on my federal return.  

Line 6 of AZ form 140 states "Amount of charitable contributions for which you are claiming a credit under Arizona law".  Is this all contributions while in AZ or is this something special?  This makes no sense to me since TT didn't put my contributions on this line.

Thank you.  Kurt

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
BillM223
Expert Alumni

"Can I assume that if I did not make a manual/specific (additional) claim for credit for the same items on my AZ return, that the 0.00 on line 6 is legit?"

Yes, absolutely. 

Most of the credits above are entered beginning on a screen with the title "School Tax Credits". You won't get these credits unless you ask for them.

So I would expect a 0.00 on line 6, because it you didn't take any of these credits in Arizona, then there is no reason to have to add the credits amounts back to Arizona income (line 6).

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

5 Replies
BillM223
Expert Alumni

If you took a deduction on the federal return for a charitable contribution that you are claiming as a credit in Arizona, then the amount of the credit needs to be added back to Arizona income, since taking both the credit and the deduction would be double-dipping.