turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

lmlefty

Does the state of CO allow passive loss carryover?

I have a K-1 Equivalent form for the state of Colorado.  It has a several hundred dollar loss and there's no other income in that state (I'm a TN resident).  I'm trying to figure out if its worth filing a Colorado state return or not.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
IsabellaG
Expert Alumni

Yes, the state does allow for passive loss carryovers for nonresidents. See this link:https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=6219&fileName=1%20CCR%20201-2

"Colorado passive losses of nonresident individuals. A nonresident of Colorado may source to Colorado passive losses carried over from prior tax years and claimed in arriving at federal adjusted gross income to the extent such nonresident had Colorado source passive losses in prior tax years not previously claimed for Colorado income tax purposes."

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Where does this adjustment go on CO forms for a non-resident?  I've utilized the losses on federal level by the way, but had no other source of income in CO in prior year(s), hence th CO PAL c/o.

james51

Isabella,

Does Colorado allow an NOL to be used on a composite return?  A partnership has all Colorado non residents and they have incurred a loss for the last three years.  This year they have income.  Can i offset the NOL from previous years against this years income on the composite return?

Jim

MaryK4
Expert Alumni