turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

I work remotely for a company in another state, from whom I received a 1099-MISC. Do I pay taxes to that state or just to the state I'm living in?

The company I work for is located in Michigan.  However, I am a resident of Kansas, and I do all of my work remotely in Kansas.  Where do I pay my State income taxes? 

TomD8
Level 15

I work remotely for a company in another state, from whom I received a 1099-MISC. Do I pay taxes to that state or just to the state I'm living in?

@gmelenyk001  Your home state of Kansas can tax all your income, regardless of where you earn it.  As long as you never physically work in Michigan, your income is not taxable by Michigan.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.
maglib
Level 11

You risk being double taxed if you live in one state but work for a company based in New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Pennsylvania or Nebraska.  Michigan is NOT one of the states. These 5 states had a convenience vs. necessity test. If they determine that working from home is a matter of convenience for you rather than a necessity for your employer, you will owe taxes to those states on the income you earn during your telecommuting days.