Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm looking at my Illinois Schedule NR and on Line 24 HSA Deduction, the Illinois Portion is all of what is on the 1040. I think it should be 0. How do I update?

The Illinois Portion of my HSA deduction should be zero since I am a full time resident of Florida.  I'm only completing an IL tax return due to having some rental income from IL.
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
BillM223
Expert Alumni

I'm looking at my Illinois Schedule NR and on Line 24 HSA Deduction, the Illinois Portion is all of what is on the 1040. I think it should be 0. How do I update?

Why do you think it should be zero? The State of Illinois already knows that you are a nonresident (or else you would not be using Schedule NR). And the instructions literally say, "Line 24: Health savings account deduction   Enter the amount of health savings account deduction you claimed this year as shown in Column A."

The net result is that whether or not you live in the state, you should remove any HSA contributions from state income by following the instructions for Schedule NR.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Hello @BillM223,

I am in a similar situation as @davidheupel.

How do I go about removing the HSA contribution on the IL income?

Appreciate any guidance you can provide.

Thanks.

BillM223
Expert Alumni

From what do you want to remove the HSA contribution? Line 24 on Schedule NR?

Hello @BillM223,

That is correct.

I tried doing an override on the form itself.

Not sure why TurboTax is not automatically excluding my HSA contribution it since I am a non-resident.