Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Colorado - Form 104PN: SP PY Resident Box should not be checked if your spouse lived in Colorado the whole year

I'm new to CO. While reviewing state taxes TurboTax flagged this as something to "fix." It says,

"Form 104PN: SP PY Resident Box should not be checked if your spouse lived in Colorado the whole year."

We moved to CO on January 5th of 2022. I'm guessing this is because I selected "Part-Year Resident" from 01/2022 to 12/2022. Since the form only cares about the range down to the month, should we have selected "Full-Year Resident"? Or have I done this form correctly since we technically didn't live in CO for the first 5 days of the year?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

10 Replies
ErnieS0
Expert Alumni

Colorado - Form 104PN: SP PY Resident Box should not be checked if your spouse lived in Colorado the whole year

Since the flag only comes up for spouse (SP) it is not related to rounding months.

Check My Info to make sure that you indicated that both you and your spouse were part-year residents, lived in another state and are showing a date when you became residents of Colorado.

1. Select My Info in the left column
  2. Select Edit next to your name. State of residence should be Colorado. I lived in another state in 2022 should be Yes. Previous state of residence should have your old state and Date you became a resident of Colorado should be 01/05/2022.
  3. Then Edit next to your spouse and go through the same steps.
  4. Then go to the Colorado section. On the screen “Colorado” residency, the Part-Year Resident box should be checked for both of you.
**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post