Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

cwwjfl
Returning Member

California Other State Tax Credit

I'm currently a CA resident  and I had some income from KS this year. So I filed my KS tax as non-resident and I knew I could claim other state tax credit on my CA tax return. Now I'm a bit lost when filling out California Schedule S form.

Assume I earned 95,000 from CA and 5,000 from KS. So my total income for CA tax return is 100,000. So what's Double-taxed income taxable by California? (100,000 or just 5,000)

If answer for above question is 5000 then what's Double-taxed income taxable by KS? (100,000 or again 5000).

The reason why I'm confused is the taxable income on my KS tax return actually is 100,000 instead of 5000. Based on 100,000 income, I need to pay 4000 to KS. Since I'm a non-resident, so my final KS tax liability is 4000*(5000/100,000) = 200

So I think my double taxed income should be 100,000 for both CA and KS, though KS did apply percentage 4000/100,000 on KS tax return.

Is my understanding right? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
TomD8
Level 15

The $95,000 is not double-taxed, because it is taxed only by CA.  It is not taxed by KS.

The $5,000 you earned in KS is taxed by both states. 

$5000 is your double-taxed income.

You can take a credit on your CA return for the taxes paid to KS, but you cannot take a credit on your KS return for the taxes paid to CA.

**Answers are correct to the best of my ability but do not constitute tax or legal advice.
cwwjfl
Returning Member

So if my double-taxed income is 5000, the CA Schedule S form asks the following information: