turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099 Misc - California Non-Resident

Hello,

I live and work in Texas. I have a full-time job in Texas that provides a w2. I also work as a part-time freelance graphic designer and performed contract work for a company in California. I received a 1099-MISC for the work I completed. The amount was under $4,000, do I need to file a California State tax return? If so, do I only include the 1099-MISC information or do I allow TurboTax to use my federal return information?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MinhT1
Employee Tax Expert

No, as the work is done in Texas, your 1099-MISC is considered as income earned in Texas, even if the company is based in California. You do not have to file a California state return.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

5 Replies
MinhT1
Employee Tax Expert

No, as the work is done in Texas, your 1099-MISC is considered as income earned in Texas, even if the company is based in California. You do not have to file a California state return.

msurwl