turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Mistake with Oregon State Software?

I think there may be a mistake w/ the TurboTax Premier Oregon state software.  When preparing my 2020 Federal return, in the Federal “Deductions & Credits” section, I entered $996 of California taxes paid in 2020 for 2019 (I was a part-year resident from 1/1/19-11/30/19) plus $852 of Oregon taxes paid in 2020 for 2019 (I was a part-year resident from 12/1/19-12/31/19).  I was a resident of Oregon for all of 2020.  In the 2020 Oregon “Credit For Tax Paid to Another State” section, TurboTax is stating that “You paid $1,848 of taxes to states other than Oregon.”  The $1,848 amount appears in Oregon's 2020 Schedule OR-A (Oregon Itemized Deductions) Line 5 for State and local income taxes paid.  This is incorrect, as I believe the figure should be $996 to represent only the taxes paid to California.  It appears to be erroneously including the $852 of taxes paid to Oregon ($996 + $852 = $1,848).  The only possible reason I can think of why TT would have counted the tax paid to Oregon is because I completed Form OR-40-P (for part-year residents) for 2019 rather than Form OR-40 (for full-year residents).  Can someone reply to me to confirm whether or not this is a mistake in TurboTax, and if so, correct the program ASAP?  I am unable to manually override the figure.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
BillM223
Expert Alumni

May I assume that you are using the Online product? 

I doubt that the problem is the OR-40-P in 2019. Instead, it looks like TurboTax is pulling the entire 2020 taxes paid for 2019 for all states without regard to which states they were for.