turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1099b2021
Returning Member

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

@cboizauer Thanks for all the helpful pointers. I am sorry for the noob question, I could not figure out where the option to add capital gains row(s) is. I found the pdf form under 1040/1040sr worksheet, but could not edit it. If possible at all, can you please show me the steps, PLEASE. Or if there is a mock form to share, it will immensely help first time day trader filers such as myself. 

I am a day trader. How, exactly, do I report my investment income ($50,000 in losses, actually) into TurboTax, so that I can capitalize on the full range of deductions?

You are supposed to individual list your trades on form 8949.  And than transport those figures onto schedule D. 

Turbo tax has a place for you to do so and they fill out the form 8949 for you.

If you are like me and have over 1000 trades a year.  I put the total numbers from my 1099b on this lines and include a copy of the 1099B with my tax return.  

1099b2021
Returning Member

Ok, thanks. I was referring to an earlier response to another comment from you: