turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Turbotax 2019 does not allow negative number in Indiana K-1 form line 19

Hello,

I'm a resident of CA but need to file an Indiana non-resident return because of an Indiana-based partnership I have.  The Indiana K-1 form (IT-20S/IT-65 2019 Schedule IN K-1) I received from the partnership's CPA has a negative number in line 19 (under Part 4 - State Modifications); the associated "code" for this K-1 entry is 142.  When I try to enter this number into Turbotax (in the Indiana state tax tab, directly on the form) I get an error message saying "the value entered must be equal to or greater than 0."

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

13 Replies
DavidS127
Expert Alumni

Code 142 is for Excess Federal Interest Deduction Modifications per the IN Form 65 instructions (see on page 9 of this PDF:(

"Excess Federal Interest Deduction Modification (3-digit code: 142) - IRC Section 163(j) limits the federal interest deduction for most business interest to 30% of adjusted taxable income plus business interest. However, Indiana decoupled from this provision. Subtract an amount equal to the amount disallowed as a federal deduction for excess business interest in the year in which the interest was first paid or accrued. Add back any amount of excess taxable income (as defined in IRC Section 163(j)(4)(C)) determined at the entity level.business interest expense deduction limited (i.e., not allowed) for federal purposes, but allowable as deduction for Indiana."