turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

pls-76

If I am a business owner and sublet rental space that I do not own, is this considered income? Will this put me into a different tax bracket?

Does rental income carry me into a higher tax bracket?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

If I am a business owner and sublet rental space that I do not own, is this considered income? Will this put me into a different tax bracket?

Because the sublet is part of your business, it is reported as business income on schedule C (not schedule E where regular rental income is reported). As Critter#2 indicated, the income is shown as other income (line 6 of schedule C) rather than included in  Gross receipts or sales (line 1).

The income will increase your profit (or reduce your loss), pushing you toward a higher tax rate. Whether you get to the higher bracket depends on the amount and where you were in the lower bracket before the income.

The extra profit will be subject to self employment tax as well as income tax.

Another way to look at it is: it is not so much income as a reduction in your rental deduction for the rent you pay

View solution in original post

13 Replies

If you file a sch C then the rent you collect is entered as other income and how it effects your tax brackets depends on the amount.
Hal_Al
Level 15

Because the sublet is part of your business, it is reported as business income on schedule C (not schedule E where regular rental income is reported). As Critter#2 indicated, the income is shown as other income (line 6 of schedule C) rather than included in  Gross receipts or sales (line 1).