turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

benbenw
Returning Member

Box1 of Schedule K-1 passive or nonpassive?

I'm a research scientist in a tech startup company (LLC). I received common share units as employee incentive. 

In the K-1 form I received. Box1: Ordinary business income (loss) , there is a net loss. 

When i used TurboTax to enter my K-1 form, there is a question asking whether I "materially participated in the partnership's business activity" The answer (Yes/NO) makes a huge difference (several thousand$) in the nonpassive loss amount (reduces taxable income). 

If by working hours, I'm definitely over 500 hrs a year. But EasyGuide seems to imply only the higher management who can make big decisions in the company are considered to "participate" in business activities. 

There should plenty of people out there who received employee stocks in LLC companies. I wonder how you answered to this question in Turbo Tax. 

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Two more peices of information you need to provide.

1) Is this s 1065-K1 or an 1120-S K1?

2) Are you a general partner or a limited partner?

Anonymous
Not applicable

i have provided a link to PUB 925. on page 5 you'll find what the IRS considers material participation

in the context of an LLC there are no limited partners only LLC members.

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p925.pdf

benbenw
Returning Member

Thanks for quick response. 

1) 1065-K1

2) Limited partner

Additional information needed:

• Are you being paid W-2 wages (want to understand if things are being handled properly)?
  • Did you invest any initial capital in this entity?