turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I have to pay self employment taxes being a stock trader?

Hey!

I am a new stock trader in the trading world. I know I have to pay short term capital gain taxes being a day trader. However, since I am not providing any services for someone expect investing my own money in stocks do I have to pay the 15.3% self employment tax on my gains. That is stock trading is my only income.

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

@Anonymous wrote:

even if day trading is your only occupation, your earnings are not considered to be earned income. This means that day traders, whether classified for tax purposes as investors or traders, don’t have to pay the self-employment tax on their trading income.

That's not automatically true.  It depends on the facts and circumstances.  See this article.

https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc429

If you are self-employed, you pay SE tax on your net profit, but you can deduct your investment costs.  If you are a casual trader, you don't pay SE tax but you can't deduct your costs.  (The miscellaneous itemized deduction that included investment costs was eliminated as part of tax reform in 2018.)

There are also some answers here, although the threads are long, complicated and old (the 2019 dates are not correct due to a software glitch).

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/business-taxes/discussion/will-turbo-tax-work-if-i-am-a-full-time-trader-in-commodities-self-employed-formed-a-sole/00/59103

https://ttlc.intuit.com/community/retirement/discussion/i-am-a-day-trader-how-exactly-do-i-report-my-investment-income-50-000-in-losses-actually-into/00/33582/page/3