Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Will Turbo Tax work if I am a full time trader in commodities (self employed), formed a sole proprietorship LLC in May, and elected Mark to Market (IRC 475) accounting?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
GeoffreyG

Will Turbo Tax work if I am a full time trader in commodities (self employed), formed a sole proprietorship LLC in May, and elected Mark to Market (IRC 475) accounting?

Yes; TurboTax can certainly handle the type of return required for a self-employed commodities trader; but it will require a little bit of work and effort.

Essentially, after declaring yourself as a securities trader (if you objectively meet the criteria) you will then need to print and file your tax return on paper (not e-file) and attach a statement to the back of it declaring what is known as an IRC (Internal Revenue Code) Section 475(f) election.  Next, you will enter your business expenses as a securities trader on a Form 1040 Schedule C, inputting your expenses only and showing no income from this particular business activity (i.e., trading).  Finally, you will manually add a Form 4797 to your tax return, and enter your net total gain / loss in Part II of Form 4797, using the TurboTax smart worksheet.

Please note that you will want the TurboTax desktop software to correctly do this; the TurboTax online program will not be adequate, because you will not have access to the "Forms Mode" of the software.