turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I cannot continue my Federal Taxes (QTP)

So I am a Grad Student with a 529 College Savings Account, and I already entered in my 1099Q form under my income. After I finished up with my W-2s and my credits, I am approached by a page stating: "Other Income Statement: Qualified tuition program distributions - Taxpayer - You can't file just yet due to a recent law passed by Congress". And it's telling me to review my distributions which I had already entered, and I checked that they are correct. What Law?! Why can't I submit my taxes now, when I already have all of my documents ready?

Is anyone else experiencing this, because I would love an explanation. Also what did Congress even do?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

173 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

"entered in my 1099Q form under my income"

The 1099-Q should be entered at Deductions and credits/ education, not in the income section.

The SECURE act, signed 12-20-19 allows 529 plan money to be used for student loan payments.  Even though you may not be affected, the program is. https://www.savingforcollege.com/article/new-law-allows-529-plans-to-repay-student-loans