turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Form 1098t is showing a different amount in box 1 than what my school recieved

Hello, I'm a student and recieved my 1098-t form today and am a little confused by the amounts reported in box one and five.

Both boxes show the amount $6670. From what I've read online, this means that the amounts cancel out and I do not owe taxes and do not qualify for credit.

The problem with this is that on my school website, it shows that I only paid $5563 for my tuition and expenses during the year and recieved grants & scholarship amounts of $6670. This means I have recieved refunds of $1107. I know I used $379 of these refunds to buy my books, but that leaves $728 as a taxable amount.

Am I missing something, or is this form not showing my tax liability? Do I need to report the $728 regardless of the information on the form?

•  
  • Thanks in advance!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q.  Do I need to report the $728 regardless of the information on the form?

A.  Technically, yes.

But, it depends on more details.  What other income do you have. Generally, you do not need to file a tax return if you have less than $12,400 of total income (there are exceptions for dependents with unearned income).

It sounds like your school is trying to protect you by assuming you used all the difference for qualified expenses and put the box 5 amount in box 1.  Generally a computer purchase is also a qualified expense.

The 1098-T is only an informational document. The numbers on it are not required to be entered onto your tax return.