turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1098-T When Tuition Charged vs When Tuition Paid

Hello,

I received my 2019 1098-T from my college. I graduated in Spring 2019, my final semester. The 2019 form reflects nothing in box 1 or 2 regarding tuition (different from evert 1098-T prior), however my tuition scholarship is still present. Given this, my refund takes a hit as without context it seems I have a lot of money from the university with no tuition being spent on.

However, in my actual student account where I paid my expenses, for Spring 2019 I can see a charge of the tuition as well as the credit from the tuition-only paying scholarship (as was the case each semester). They always cancel each other as they are posted at the same time each semester. I emailed my school account rep and they confirmed the tuition was charged in December 2018 but paid in January 2019.

Is this the situation where I check the box on Turbo Tax that says “this is not what I paid” and enter the tuition amount I paid? Or do I strictly upload the informational 1098-T and take the loss, as that box does not apply to me? I don’t want to submit this form incorrectly and have to sort out a wrong filing, but I also need help on uncovering the real and fair situation I file on.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

This is answered in your other post. 

Yes, definitely. 

Your school is wrong. They are mandated to report what was paid, not what was billed.