turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I owe money because my parents paid in fall of 2020?

Hi,

I graduated from university in spring of 2021 and am currently filing as independent. Previously, I was claimed as a dependent by my parents. 

My parents apparently paid my tuition and other university expenses in the fall of 2020 (within the 3 months that my spring 2021 classes would commence). They already claimed this in their taxes. As a result, my 1098-T form has a value of 0 in Box 1 (tuition/expenses) and a value of thousands of dollars in Box 5 (scholarships or grants). My tax preparer says that because of this, the difference between scholarships and expenses results in an income; thus, I owe money. 

This all seems very convoluted, and I feel like there surely has to be some kind of workaround for this?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
RaifH
Expert Alumni

This is fairly common since academic years don't line up with tax years very well. Since your parents claimed the tuition expenses for your spring 2021 classes but did not claim the scholarship amount received for that semester due to how the payments fell, the onus would be on you to report the scholarship amount as income this year with no offsetting expense.