turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Switched from Home&Business to Business: where do I insert my employee wages and other deductions?

I recently switched my single member LLC being taxed as a sole proprietor to an S-corp. So I had to switch to TT-Business.

I pay myself as an employee and gave myself a W-2. On salary and wages there are 3 fields, Officers, Sharholders (>2% owners), and "All other Employees".  I am an officer and an employee. Where do I put my employee wages?

Also, in TT-home and business, I use my home office as a deduction(depreciation) and home office expense like(partial electrcity, water, internet, etc.) . How do I deduct that from TT-B?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
gloriah5200
Expert Alumni

Switched from Home&Business to Business: where do I insert my employee wages and other deductions?

Being an officer would override being an employee for reporting your wages paid to you on the return.

It depends on what method you used. There's two ways to claim the home office deduction. You can take a deduction for the percentage of the actual expenses that pertain to the home office (the regular method), or you can use the simplified method. If you used the simplified method, you took no depreciation. Below is some more information about the simplified method per Rev. Proc. 2013-13 (PDF):

• Taxpayers can elect to calculate the deduction for using a home office for business under the simplified method rather than deduct actual expenses.
  • The simplified method is calculated by multiplying $5 by the square footage of the area in the home used for business.
  • The maximum area allowed under the simplified method is 300 square feet.