turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

de-navar

I am a permanent resident of US (Not a Citizen). I am a partner in multi-member LLC. Am I a "domestic partner" or "Foreign partner" in schedule K-1, part II, item H?

I am a permanent resident of US (Not a Citizen). I am a partner in multi-member LLC. Am I a "domestic partner" or "Foreign partner"  in schedule K-1, part II, item H? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I am a permanent resident of US (Not a Citizen). I am a partner in multi-member LLC. Am I a "domestic partner" or "Foreign partner" in schedule K-1, part II, item H?

You are a domestic partner since you reside in the US.

View solution in original post

7 Replies

You are a domestic partner since you reside in the US.

MOD5

The input for this has to be corrected in TurboTax Business.  The question asks if the partner a US Citizen.  This is not correct.  It should be a US "person", which is citizen or permanent resident.  This created an incorrect filing and I have to correct with the IRS - please clarify this in the program.

YOU are right

Hi MOD5,

Would you mind explaining to us how did you correct this issue? I have the same problem. Due to the wrong question in Turbotax business, the IRS sent us a letter saying that our LLC have a foreign partner, and we don't.

Thanks a lot in advance 🙂

Hi, I made the same mistake. I am not a citizen but I am a US person, living in US for the complete year. How did you fix it with IRS? Thanks!

I also faced the same situation in 2023 filing. I mistakenly marked one of members from my LLC as a Foreign Partner who has been residing in the USA as an LPR (Green Card) but not yet US Citizen.