turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I graduated college May 2017- am I entitled to a credit from American Opportunity Credit? If so , I can I amend my taxes that I already submitted?

I already completed my 2017 tax return however I did not include my credit for the American Opportunity Credit.

I graduated and received my BA in May 2017.

Am I entitled to this credit and if so how do I go about amending my current tax return,

Thank you

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

I graduated college May 2017- am I entitled to a credit from American Opportunity Credit? If so , I can I amend my taxes that I already submitted?

You can Amend, go through the Education section and see if you can claim these credits.  Click here for specific amending instructions. 2017

HOPE or AMERICAN Credit

You need to go back through the Education section.

Education tax credits can help you with higher education costs by reducing the amount of tax you owe. There are two credits available, the American Opportunity Tax Credit and the Lifetime Learning Credit. We check both of them for you.

American Opportunity Tax Credit (AOTC)

You can use this credit for the first four years of college when working towards a degree.

• Maximum credit is $2,500 per eligible student.
  • Must be enrolled at least half time for at least one semester during the tax year.
  • Up to $1,000 can be refunded to you.

Lifetime Learning Credit

There is no limit on the number of years you can use this credit for undergraduate, graduate and professional degree courses, including ones to improve job skills.

• Maximum credit is $2,000 per tax return.