turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I mailed my state taxes during mid April, but never received my return and checked the IRS website and my account said I had yet to file. Can I file late with a fee?

I mailed them from a military base, and my return address is where I work since we have no mail room. I assumed they were working on it but then left for a detachment and forgot about it until now. I don't know if they received my taxes and never checked until now. I'm also a resident of NC but am stationed in CA, I knew there was issue this year for filing with new tax laws so that may have been the issue.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

I mailed my state taxes during mid April, but never received my return and checked the IRS website and my account said I had yet to file. Can I file late with a fee?

Are you asking about federal or state?  IRS is federal.   The IRS is behind on updating their website. Plan on 6 months or more for mailed returns. The IRS is taking a lot longer this year. All you can do is wait and be patient.

Here's a couple IRS articles. The IRS is still processing 2020 returns. As of June 21, 2022 the IRS is almost done processing 2020 returns, filed in 2021. See,
https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-continues-work-on-inventory-of-tax-returns-original-tax-returns-fil...

And see, https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/irs-operations-during-covid-19-mission-critical-functions-continue

@jthiedesmith - if you paper filed, assume that it will be 6-9 months from the time you filed until the IRS processes your return.  They are woefully backlogged.... best you can do is just be patient.