turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Filed two months ago, still nothing. Haven't filed in a few years due to having no taxed income, what can I do about Covid relief?

Ok, I filed Feb 10th, my day 21 was March 2nd. Before that it had been years since I last filed as I've been a GI bill college student with non taxable income. I have moved a ton, so I'm sure, prior to filing, the IRS didn't know where I was. Its April 6th, still processing, tax topic 152.

I found out that even though I'm paying on my student loan it was still going to be taken out of my taxes. It was a 3000 loan I've been paying on forever and it's still worth 4400 dollars of my money :( Anyway, I was sad, because tax refunds are what I, someone who lives paycheck to paycheck, use to fix my car if needed and pay up some bills, giving me a short reprieve and letting me relax and avoid 60plus hour weeks. 

However, I waited and waited, still no notice, student loan people still taking my money. I tried calling the IRS a lot, but they always said the "call volume too high" and hung up on me. I probably called a hundred times last week just to get up and start calling and got "we're closed indefinitely." I get the virus tg, but this can't be done remotely? Anyways. I'm still so confused, because if it was an ID thing, wouldn't they send me a letter? Because I didn't get anything from them. 

It still says topic 152, which makes me even more worried, because if they had even partly processed it it should have reflected my student loan instead.  I asked an IRS agent if it could have been lost, she said rare, but possibly, so refile.  How in the world would I do that?