Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I put a 0 when prompted to put my "deferred payment " on line 18 of my federal return and sent it off. Mistake? ( I work as a independent hair stylist)

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
JohnW152
Expert Alumni

I put a 0 when prompted to put my "deferred payment " on line 18 of my federal return and sent it off. Mistake? ( I work as a independent hair stylist)

It’s not necessarily a mistake, but it’s a new provision that might benefit you.

A new Part III of Schedule SE, Self-Employment Tax allows self-employed individuals to compute a "maximum amount" of self-employment tax payments that can be deferred.    

Self-employed taxpayers are allowed to pay 50% of Social Security tax on net earnings from self-employment for the period March 27, 2020 through December 31, 2020.  The deferred amount will be paid 50% in 2021, and the rest in 2022.

Line 18 requires taxpayers choosing this deferral to make a reasonable computation of their self-employment income made from March 27, 2020, through December 31, 2020. 

The instructions for Line 18 are very vague, but also open-ended, allowing you to use any reasonable method to calculate the amount:

Use any reasonable method to divide the net profit or (loss) you reported on line 3 between (a) January 1, 2020, through March 26, 2020, and (b) March 27, 2020, through December 31, 2020. A reasonable method will accurately reflect the time when income was earned or accrued and deductible expenses were paid or incurred, depending on your method of accounting. In most cases, a proportional division of the amount reported on line 3 based upon the number of days in each period will be considered reasonable.