turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

p_catherine
Returning Member

Foreigner deemed a US resident but not in the US anymore

Hi!

I am a bit lost regarding my taxes. In 2019, I was a non US resident for tax purposes but for 2020 i'm deemed a US resident.

Sprintax recommends using TurboTax but since I don't have a US debit card nor a US address, what should I do in case I have to pay fees or if I owe money?

Can I claim both Economic stimulus payments ($1800) ?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
TerukoL
Intuit Alumni

If you don't have a US bank account, you can pay your TurboTax fees with a U.S.-based credit or pre-paid debit card.

We're unable to accept checks, money orders, or cash as payment.

Please click the following links to learn more:

What if I don't have a bank account?

How do U.S. taxpayers living and working abroad report their income?

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
p_catherine
Returning Member

Thank you for your answer.

I forgot to mention that I don't live in the US anymore, I left in July 2020 so I can't get a credit card or a pre-paid credit card.

I am not a US citizen, only a US resident for tax purposes. I used Sprintax in 2019 but this year I can't.

Can I ask someone else (a US citizen) to pay for me if I have fees or If I owe taxes? 

Another question : since apparently I am a US resident for tax purposes, can I claim both Economic stimulus payments ($1800 total) ?

To find out if the IRS has issued a stimulus for you go to the IRS Get My Payment site.  It will tell when your payment was processed and how you will receive it.  

p_catherine