Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

gsj5
Level 2

Hello, I've searched on the Net and in these forums but I don't see any ability to mask SSN when printing forms.  I'm reluctant to send these forms over an email to another person without having to mask the SSN.  Redacting the SSN via PDF editor or white outs is quite a painful process.  I hope Intuit product managers are reading this forum and taking our enhancement requests in their future implementation list.  As a programmer, I don't see this feature request would take more than a half hour to implement. 

Ideally, it would be helpful to have an ability to mask part of the SSN as well as entire 9 digits.

Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

14 Replies

TurboTax does not ever recommend emailing tax returns since email is not a secure way to send someone your tax return.  Who are you emailing a tax return to?

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

You will need to password protect any email with PII on it ... so who are you sending this return to ?   https://home.treasury.gov/how-to-encryptpassword-protect-microsoft-office-and-adobe-acrobat-pdf-docu....

Do they have a secure portal you can use ?    Or can you simply mail them  the return or drop it off in person ?  

gsj5
Level 2

Thanks for the suggestions.  I'm sending my past taxes to my new CPA.  Regardless of whom I'm sending and how, this would be very useful feature to have.

I've already password protected pdf file, though it would be good to have TurboTax give that option while printing!