turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

st212_99

I'm a dual status alien (resident alien for 4 months and non resident alien at end of 2018 ). Can I use Child Tax Credit for the part of year that I was a resident alien?

I was a green card holder residing in a foreign country, and I gave up my green card in April 2018. Guess I should I file as a dual-status tax payer.  Then can I claim Child Tax Credit or Foreign Earned Income Credit for the part of year (Jan. to April) that I was a resident alien?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
KarenJ
Intuit Alumni

I'm a dual status alien (resident alien for 4 months and non resident alien at end of 2018 ). Can I use Child Tax Credit for the part of year that I was a resident alien?

Yes, if your dependent qualifies for the child tax credit.  To file a dual status return you MUST use itemized deductions.  You are not allowed to use the standard deduction.  Below are the instructions for suppressing the standard deduction in TurboTax.  Also, you can only use the filing status of single or married filing separately.

You will need to file a dual status tax return for 2018 as you were a part year resident and part year nonresident.