turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Anthony6

Tax Year Prior to 2020: I'm a new business owner working under an EIN-Tax ID # but have also worked under my social security number. Can I combine them both on my taxes and if so, how?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies

Tax Year Prior to 2020: I'm a new business owner working under an EIN-Tax ID # but have also worked under my social security number. Can I combine them both on my taxes and if so, how?

Yes.  Assuming you are a sole proprietor filing a Schedule C (as most start up business file), your social security number will be on the Form 1040 for the Individual side of your income taxes.  However, when you set up your Business Profile for Schedule C, you can enter your EIN number.  The income paid to you using either your EIN or your SSN (Social Security Number) can both be combined on the same Schedule C for the business.

(That said, if you have elected to be taxed as an S-Corporation, my answer will be different.  If that is the case, please post below in the comments section.)

------------------------------------

You will still file a Schedule C as a self-employed person (unless a Corporation or Partnership).  The Schedule C will flow onto your individual income tax return (Form 1040) and be netted with other personal income and expenses.  

How to get to that area  While inside the software and working on your return, type Schedule C in the Search at the top of the screen (you may see a magnifying glass there).  There will be a popup that says Jump to Schedule C.  Select that to get to the general area.