Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why was I charged to file a Florida State return when Florida does not do income tax, so nothing needs to be filed?

I am a long time Michigan resident. I picked up a temporary job in FL for 1 week after the hurricanes. I received a W2 from this job. During my taxes, I entered in the W2, and it added Florida to my states to file in. At the end I was reviewing my cost (it made me upgrade to Deluxe), and it was 

Federal $39

Florida $39

Michigan $39

Federal and Michigan eFiled, and it said that nothing had to be mailed or sent for Florida because they do not do income taxes, so I was all set. So my question is, WHY was I charged $39 for Florida? I called in and the agent said it was the fee to eFile, but I informed her that nothing was filed for this state. We talked in circles and she did not help me. I feel I should get a refund for the $39 that went to nothing for the charges to file for Florida. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

21 Replies

Why was I charged to file a Florida State return when Florida does not do income tax, so nothing needs to be filed?

FLORIDA

Florida does not have a state income tax.   You should have skipped the FL tax unless you own rental property  in FL or a FL based business.

Florida has a  tangible personal property tax form that is used in a Florida-located business or rental property and is filed with the county property appraiser by April 1st. 

If you do need to file a Form DR-405, nothing will print (except an instruction sheet) unless assets were transferred or you manually entered assets in the DR-405 worksheet.