Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Attend our Ask the Experts event about Extension Filers on Sept 25! >> RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jncress

Which TurboTax do I need to file if I am a part of a two person LLC but also have a separate personal income from a W2?

This is my first year filing with a two person LLC. I am unsure how to file and which TurboTax to use. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MichaelDC

Which TurboTax do I need to file if I am a part of a two person LLC but also have a separate personal income from a W2?

As a multi-member LLC (including two-member LLCs run by spouses) will need to use TurboTax Business to prepare and file Form 1065 (U.S. Return of Partnership Income).

Only one return for the partnership is necessary. The partnership through the return will issue reporting statements (K1) to each of the partners. You will use those K1s when you each file your individual 1040 returns.

TurboTax Business (Windows only) contains everything you'll need to prepare Form 1065 and the associated Schedule K-1 forms.

It also lets you prepare W-2 and 1099 forms for employees and contractors that work for your LLC.

View solution in original post

6 Replies
MichaelDC

As a multi-member LLC (including two-member LLCs run by spouses) will need to use TurboTax Business to prepare and file Form 1065 (U.S. Return of Partnership Income).

Only one return for the partnership is necessary. The partnership through the return will issue reporting statements (K1) to each of the partners. You will use those K1s when you each file your individual 1040 returns.