turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

t5466ad

US resident and have canadian NR4 for pension income

I am a US resident with a Canadian NR4 for pension income. I try to enter it as suggested in posts but can not enter the canadian Payer/EIN. Turbo tax field requires numbers only and the payer/ein on the NR4 starts with letters.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

9 Replies
PaulaM
Expert Alumni

You have two options to report this income on your U.S. tax return - you can enter your foreign pension income as a substitute form 1099-R OR you can enter the foreign pension income on Form 1040, Line 21 as "other income" or "foreign pension." (preferable)

To enter your foreign pension income as a substitute form 1099-R:·

1. Click the Federal Taxes tab at the top.
  2. Select Wages and Income.
  3. Scroll down to the Retirement Plans and Social Security section (Use Jump to Full List, if the entire list isn't displayed.)
  4. Select IRA, 401(k), Pension Plans Withdrawals (1099-R). (See attached screenshot.)
  5. On the screen “Tell Us Which 1099-R You Have”, there is a box “I need to prepare a substitute 1099-R”. Click on that box and continue. Select the foreign address radio button when entering the payer's address.