turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

TA30
Returning Member

Two 1042-S forms and Bangladesh-US tax treaty

I am an international student from Bangladesh. I have been in the US since 2014 on an F-1 visa. Since I am a resident alien for tax purposes, using TurboTax is one of the only options available to me. So far, I am having a lot of trouble with filing through TurboTax.

It doesn’t allow 1042-S. Bangladesh has a tax treaty with the US. How do I input that information?

To make matters worse, I have changed universities. I held a GA position in both universities and as such, had incomes from two different universities during 2019. So, I have two different 1042-S.

I am utterly confused. Why must this be so difficult?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

18 Replies
AmyC
Expert Alumni

The 1042S is not supported so you have to enter the parts separately. The good news, you can add them together for one entry.

For the income:

1. Go to federal
  2. to Income and Credits
  3. to last section, Less Common Income
  4. bottom selection, Miscellaneous Income
  5. Start
  6. bottom selection, Other Reportable Income
  7. Start
  8. Any Other Taxable Income?
  9. Yes
  10. 1042S income and enter the total of the 2 forms.
  11. Continue
  12. Click the blue Add Another Income Item on the left
  13. Enter  Bangladesh Treaty and the amount as a negative dollar
  14. Continue

If you have other information on the 1042S, it will need to be captured in the sections that match it in similar fashion. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
TA30
Returning Member