Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

hyprior

This is my first year self-employed (gig worker.) Do I need to sign up for quarterly tax payments now?

I use an app that determines my taxes owed so far, after deductions. I'm at 350, so I'll be at the 400 lower limit soon. However, I don't know if I'm going to do gig work the rest of the year or how much income I'll get from it (I do it part time) so I'm unsure about quarterly taxes.

Do I wait to see how much in taxes I pay next year, from this tax year, to determine the amount I need to do for quarterly payments? Or do I guess a random number for my estimated income this year and start payments now? If the latter, I'm worried my payments will be too high if I end up only doing this for a month or two more.

This is my only income, but I'm married filing jointly.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

This is my first year self-employed (gig worker.) Do I need to sign up for quarterly tax payments now?

You must file a self-employed return if your net income after expenses is more than $400, that's not the threshold for making estimated payments.  

You will owe a penalty for underpayment or late payment if you don't pay during the year, even if you pay in full when you file, unless you meet one of these three penalty exceptions:

1. the tax you owe when you file is less than $1000

2. the amount you paid into the system is more than 90% of your tax bill