Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

adominiq

Can my parent claim me as a dependent at 26 years old?

I was a full time student and my parents were paying for my tuition and housing.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

19 Replies

If your gross income was less than $4050, you do not file a joint return (if married) and they provided more than half of your return they can claim you as a dependent.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
hughy10

same questions, but what if the 27 year old had investment income of $1,451
Hal_Al
Level 15

Investment income is part of the $4050 limit.  So, if the $1451 is his only income, he can still be his parent's dependent if he does not file a joint return (if married) and they provided more than half of his support.

Don't confuse the dependent support test ($4050) with the dependent filing requirement. A dependent must file a tax return if he has more than $1050 of investment income; but he can still be a dependent, because his income is less than $4050.

If your gross income was less than $4050, you do not file a joint return (if married) and they provided more than half of your return they can claim you as a dependent.

Hal_Al
Level 15

There are two types of dependents, "Qualifying Children"(QC) and standard ("Qualifying Relative" in IRS parlance even though they don't have to actually be related). There is no income limit for a QC but there is an age limit, a relationship test and a residence test. Only a QC qualifies the taxpayer for the Earned Income Credit.