turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How to enter a 1099-MISC for a college summer internship in another state

I am an undergrad college student, earning $3,000 from campus job during 2017.  An internship in another state, New Mexico, paid $6,000, but I am still below the amount for having to file a federal return.  No taxes were taken out of my internship income.  $131 taken out of my campus job earnings. I want to file federal return in order to get back $131.  When entering the 1099-MICS for $6,000, suddenly my return shows that I owe over $437. #1 - Is there a way to enter the 1099-MISC so I can get my $131 back and owe nothing? #2- Do I even have to enter the 1099-MISC??  #3- Will I have to pay state tax to New Mexico?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
MarilynG
Expert Alumni

The IRS has copies of your 1099-Misc forms.  If you do decide to file a return, you should include them.

If the income on the 1099-Misc is reported in Box 7, 'Nonemployee Compensation' it appears you were a contract employee and would report the income as self-employment income.  You could be assessed Self Employment Tax (same as Social Security taken out of W-2 wages) which would go into your social security account.

When entering the 1099-Misc in TurboTax you are given the option to choose 'this work is unrelated to my regular job' and 'there was no intent to earn a profit'; however, the income would still be taxed as 'other income' and added to your W-2 wages, and you may still owe both Federal and State tax.