turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Form 8615: what should I select for my parent's US tax filing status, if my parents don't file US taxes? (Options:married filing separately, single, head of household)

My parents are not US citizens and don't reside in the US, and thus they don't file taxes in the US.

I am filling out 8615 because I am a US resident for tax purposes and received a stipend income last year.

I am unable to complete Form 8615 without selecting my parent's US tax filing status on TurboTax and am only given a multiple choice with the following options: married filing separately, single, head of household.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

Form 8615: what should I select for my parent's US tax filing status, if my parents don't file US taxes? (Options:married filing separately, single, head of household)

The IRS apparently never considered the possibility of a U.S. citizen or resident alien who is required to file Form 8615 and whose parents are foreign. They do not provide any instructions or guidance for this situation. Several SuperUsers and a forum moderator discussed this recently and could not come up with a solution that we're really satisfied with. The best I can do is to suggest the following, with thanks to another SuperUser, macuser_22, who suggested this approach.