Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Really need your helps to clarify part-time resident and how Turbo tax handle it

I have been using Turbo Tax for 10 years now. This year I am a bit confused how Turbo Tax can handle my situation. I really appreciate if you could help reviewing my situation and let me know what I should do and whether Turbo Tax can handle it.

So my timeline:

01/01/2022 - 03/01/2022: I am still a California resident

03/01/2022 - now: I moved to Texas and became an Texas resident (bought a house in Texas and already sold the home in California before the move). Applied for Texas driver license and registered my car with Texas

01/01/2022 - 06/01/2022: Still work with the same company in California due to remote policy. Company did apply for a Texas tax id when I notified them of the move and switch my tax profile to Texas in 04/01/2022 so I no longer have any of my tax withhold by California since 04/01/2022. Technically I should be moved to the Texas tax profile since 3/1/2022 but employer needs some time to set up new tax profile in the new state.

06/01/2022 - now: Got a new remote job. Employee is based from Tennessee. They also set my tax account to be based from Texas so I don't have any connection to Tennessee.

I work remotely from Texas since 03/01/2022 till now

So my question would be :

1. Is TurboTax smart enough to pro-rate my last job so I only pay tax to California for the time I worked in California (1/1 - 3/1) and don't own any tax to California from 3/1 onward ?