Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

csankar01

Part of my graduate stipends was reported on a 1099-MISC because the source of the funds was not the college where I worked.

As a doctoral student, I am given a stipends that is derived from the college where I work. However, there was an issue that prevented the college from promptly disbursing all of my wages to me and as a result, part of my wages had to come from my boss's private research grant. This caused me to receive a W2, which reflects the majority of the wages I earned, and a 1099-MISC, which reflects the balance that the college was supposed to pay me but instead was paid to me by my boss from his research funds. Considering what I have read about the types of income that are traditionally reported on a 1099-MISC, I will say that I am not a freelancer; the wages reported on the 1099-MISC were monies that were paid to me as a doctoral student employee of the college. 

So my question is:

In addition to my W2, do I still need to file the 1099-MISC or should I be filing an 8919?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
IsabellaG
Expert Alumni

Part of my graduate stipends was reported on a 1099-MISC because the source of the funds was not the college where I worked.

Yes, you need to report the income, but not on form 8919. If this is truly stipend income, it shouldn't be reported on a 1099-MISC.

See the instructions for 1099-MISC: https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1099msc.pdf (page 2). You may have already read this.