turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Overpayment - apply to 2020 estimated taxes

I have a refund for my 2019 Federal return.  I want to receive part of it and i want to apply part of it to my 2020 estimated tax payments.  I have looked on line and simply can't find this magic jumpto button.

Can someone please guide me through this preferably using the open forms method?

Thanks

As an aside and this is just my non-professional impression.  I have been using TT for almost 20 years.  Turbo Tax seems to be getting less and less flexible.  Trying to find links to things runs into dead ends. (Whine)  I try not to take myself too seriously.  So it certainly could be an incorrect impression.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DoninGA
Level 15
Intuit Approved! This answer has been verified for accuracy by an Intuit expert employee

To add, change or delete a current year federal tax refund to next year's taxes before you file your tax return -

• Click on Federal Taxes (Personal using Home and Business)
  • Click on Other Tax Situations
  • Under Additional Tax Payments
  • On Apply Refund to Next Year, click on the start or update button

Or enter apply federal refund to next year in the Search box located in the upper right of the program screen. Click on Jump to apply federal refund to next year

The amount applied to next years taxes will be shown on Form 1040 Line 22

View solution in original post

5 Replies
DoninGA
Level 15
Intuit Approved! This answer has been verified for accuracy by an Intuit expert employee

To add, change or delete a current year federal tax refund to next year's taxes before you file your tax return -