Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

NGOO
Level 1

NFT cost basis

I'm an artist who creates and sells NFTs. How do I deal with "cost basis" for the works I mint and with the fees I pay to mint the NFTs?  Are the fees I paid the cost basis?  

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JulieS
Expert Alumni

NFT cost basis

Yes, your cost basis will be the gas fees and the auction fees.

Costs paid for hardware and software can be included in basis, if they were only used for the creation of the NFT that you sold.

If you have costs for hardware and software that can be used to create more than one NFT, you may want to fill out a self employment schedule to deduct your other business costs. 

Click here to learn more.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

5 Replies
ColeenD3
Expert Alumni

NFT cost basis

Cost basis is what you pay for something. It is not always cash. Basis can be a purchase price, a gift, an inheritance, a barter, etc. Fees that you pay are expenses against your income.

In most situations, the basis of an asset is its cost to you.

The cost is the amount you pay for it in

• cash
  • debt obligations and
  • other property and services.

Cost includes sales tax and other expenses connected with the purchase.

• Escrow fees on closing
  • Improvements before renting
  • Damage deductions

NGOO
Level 1

NFT cost basis

I understand those things. But I still don't understand how cost-basis relates to my situation.