turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Mileage Deduction

Hello - I am a part time Lyft driver and have been since 2015. I am trying to enter my mileage as a business expense, however, after going through the various screens/questions related to mileage, I am told that I am not eligible. 

On the General Info page, under Expenses, I select edit for my vehicle. I enter in my car information, ownership info, personal use info, checked the box that I tracked my work miles, entered in my total miles for 2020 and my Lyft miles for 2020 (this screen shows the mileage that Lyft calculated), checked that I don't have a fleet of vehicles, and then entered 0 for other expenses. The next screen says:

"It turns out you don't get this deduction
No vehicle deduction for this Nissan Sentra"

I'm not sure why I am getting this message. Any help is appreciated.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
LenaH
Employee Tax Expert

Mileage Deduction

If you are leasing your Nissan Sentra and entered 0 for your actual expenses, then that could be a reason why you are not getting a deduction. When leasing a vehicle used for business, you can only use the actual cost method (not the standard mileage rate). You would then deduct a portion of your driving deductions and cost of lease payment. 

For the actual cost method, you enter total expenses for categories, such as: gas, oil, tires, repairs, maintenance, insurance, lease expenses, and fees. 

I completed a mock-up return to see where your error could be and based on your description, this was the only way I did not get a deduction using mileage.