turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

LLC sole proprietor

I am an LLC sole proprietor business owner.  
I noticed when I did my taxes there was no tax with holding.  I am the only employee.  I have sub contractors that do my work.  I give them 1099’s.  Don’t I need to withhold social security and other taxes from my earnings?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
JandKit
Employee Tax Expert

LLC sole proprietor

Hi akbotanydesig,

You are considered to be self-employed as an LLC Sole Proprietor. You can pay Estimated taxes quarterly if you so choose though. There are many benefits to being a sole proprietor but you should consider paying your taxes quarterly to avoid underpayment penalties when you file your return.

Here is information that may be useful to you:

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/small-business-taxes/limited-liability-company-taxes/L5TDDlstC

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

LLC sole proprietor

Did you file your LLC on Schedule C in your personal tax return or file a separate business tax return for it?