turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If i have never e-filed before, do i just make up a 5 digit pin? it says to use the pin from last year, but this is my first year e-filing, so i don't think i have one?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

If i have never e-filed before, do i just make up a 5 digit pin? it says to use the pin from last year, but this is my first year e-filing, so i don't think i have one?

Did you file a return at all in 2018?  If you did file a 2018 return use the AGI from that return even though you mailed it in.  If you did not file a 2018 at all, then enter zero for your 2018 AGI.

View solution in original post

@jana8  Since you did not e-file a return in 2019, & mailed it in, try using a Zero (0) for your AGI.  The IRS was backlogged processing 2019 mailed in returns that allot of mailed in returns did not get processed until late.   You can request a transcript, it will show your 2019 AGI & check the date when it was processed.

Most taxpayers who have had a PIN before the IRS discontinued it can still use their PIN that was used in 2019.

The second-best place to get your AGI is from the IRS. You can order a free transcript of your return at the IRS Get Transcript site or you can purchase a full copy of your 2019 return. Both versions will include your AGI.  The Online transcript is easy to apply for & in about 15 mins. you have your information.

See the following:

Why the IRS Discontinued the E-file PIN and What That Means for You