Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I moved to MT from HI last July, my employer based in HI withhold only HI Income Tax, my W2 only shows HI. How do I file?

I filed the Partial Year / Non-Residency form in Hawaii, and corresponding forms in Montana.  MT accepted my return, Hawaii rejected it and stated my employer must update my W2 or I owe all liability to Hawaii.  Other employees at my company are in the same situation but are not having their returns rejected.  I fear if I merely accept the loss of my return and pay the newly appointed tax liability Hawaii has told me I owe that next year I will be in the same situation that I am not a resident but paying as if I am a resident basically in two states.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Carl
Level 15

I moved to MT from HI last July, my employer based in HI withhold only HI Income Tax, my W2 only shows HI. How do I file?

I filed the Partial Year / Non-Residency form in Hawaii,

The above statement is contradictory and makes me think you checked the box on the N-15 for non-resident.  If you were a HI resident the first part of the year, then you should have filed a part-year residence return with HI - not a non-resident return. In other words, on the N-15 you should have checked the box for part year resident; not the box for non-resident.

I can't speak for MT forms, because I'm not at all familiar with them.