Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sbachawat1979
Returning Member

Enter payment made to IRS via Direct Pay under "Balance Due"

I am a resident of California and we have given time till 10/16/23 to file both state and federal tax return. However I made payments to both Federal and State in April of this year for tax year 2022 as I made calculations which showed I would owe taxes to Federal and State. 

This is not estimated taxes for last year but paid via Direct Pay and the Reason for Payment was " Balance Due" and Tax Year for Payment was selected as 2022. This was to avoid any underpayment penalty when we would actually file the tax returns. 

How can I enter this on the Turbo Tax Premier Desktop version? Please advise. 

Thank you in advance. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

I think you should enter that as an extension payment.

To enter the amount you paid with an extension (including state extension) go to

Federal Taxes (or Personal for desktop H&B version)

Deductions and Credits

Then scroll way down to Estimates and Other Taxes Paid

Other Income Taxes - Click the Start or Update button

Next page second section Payments with Extension

Either Visit All or Click Start or Update by the extension you paid

since you are using the desktop version you can use the "forms" mode (on the view tab). then click on the "Tax Payments" worksheet and enter the amounts on line 9 for 2022 extension payments. in the state "ID" column make sure to enter CA

The correct place for your federal "Bal Due" payment is Schedule 3 Line 13z.