turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Does first-year resident alien should file 1099-G ?

Hi, I am a first-year resident alien (filed as a nonresident in TY2019, but filed as a resident from TY2020), and I got 1099-G from the TY2019 filing. I suffer an issue in filing my tax because there is no STANDARD Deduction in the 1040-NR-EZ file. Similar to my situation, I found this thread [link], but I wasn't sure whether it is for the previous tax year, or it also applies to the TY 2020. Specifically, I found the IRS Publication 525, and based on worksheet 2, I think I may also have a possibility to report the state tax return as taxable. 

So, I post this question to figure out
(i) whether my 1099-G for the first-year resident alien (previously filed as a nonresident alien with 1040-NR-EX) is taxable or not and,
(ii) what is the right way to do with TurboTax? Here are some candidates that I can imagine:

- Do not attach 1099-G there (I don't think that's the right way, but who knows)

- Simply select 'I did standard deduction', although I have some itemize deduction due to the tax agreement between the US and my home country?

- Select, 'itemize deduction' and then 'please file all as taxable'

(I cannot go over with the itemized deduction option because I didn't even file Schedule A and others in the TY2019)

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
pk
Level 15
Level 15