Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

rbrown871

Deduct mileage not reimbursed by employer

I am a Field Service Engineer and travel about 33k miles a year for business at which my employer reimburse .13 cents/mile and the government allowance is .545cents/mile.  I am also required to purchase monogrammed clothing for work use ($400) just in shirts, not including the other business essentials that are needed to perform my job that are not reimbursed.  I am using TurboTax Deluxe 2018 (as I have used in the past years) and would like to know how to report these non-reimbursed expenses? I have reviewed Pub. 463 but not getting anywhere with that.

R. Brown

Ohio

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
rbrown871

This also holds true for any Sales Reps (insurance, Real Estate Agents, Doctors, utility workers (meter readers), News Paper delivery) , Fire and EMS responders among many other careers where uniforms and mileage expenses are not reimbursed.  Seems like they want to shut the USA down of those jobs. 

BarbL
Employee Tax Expert

Unfortunately, these deductions have been eliminated on the federal side. TurboTax continues to ask about these unreimbursed employee expenses because many states continue to allow a deduction.